Francis L. Counselman, MD, CPE, FACEPDr. Francis L. Counselman graduated from the University of Notre Dame cum laude with a Bachelor of Science degree. He received his Medical Degree from Eastern Virginia Medical School (EVMS). After a one year internship in Internal Medicine, he completed his Emergency Medicine residency training at EVMS. He is a diplomate of the American Board of Emergency Medicine. Upon completion of residency training, Dr. Counselman joined Emergency Physicians of Tidewater (EPT), a private practice group of board-certified emergency physicians, and as volunteer faculty for EVMS. Dr. Counselman served as the Program Director of the EVMS Emergency Medicine residency program from 1990 to 2010. During that time, he received the 2003 Residency Director of the Year Award from the Emergency Medicine Residents’’ Association and the 2005 Parker J. Palmer “Courage to Teach” Award from the Accreditation Council for Graduate Medical Education. In 1992, he founded the academic department of Emergency Medicine at EVMS (the first in Virginia) and was appointed the inaugural chairman; Dr. Counselman continues in this role today. In 1999, he was named the EVMS Foundation Distinguished Professor of Emergency Medicine, and in 2018, named to the Chidester Endowed Chair of Emergency Medicine. Dr. Counselman is past-President of: the Virginia College of Emergency Physicians (1995-1996); the Norfolk Academy of Medicine (1998-1999); the Association of Academic Chairs of Emergency Medicine (2002-2003); the Medical Staff of Sentara Hospitals Norfolk (2008-2009); and the American Board of Emergency Medicine (2014- 2015). He is the recipient of the EVMS Award for Outstanding Faculty Achievement in 2016, and the American College of Emergency Physicians’ Award for Outstanding Contribution in Education in 2017. He is a member of the Alpha Omega Alpha (AOA) Honor Medical Society. Dr. Counselman is an active educator and researcher, and has authored or co-authored 90 peer reviewed publications, 60 non-peer-reviewed, and 19 textbook chapters. He has made over 150 national, regional, and state presentations. He currently serves as the Editor-in-Chief of Emergency Medicine and serves on the Board of Directors of the Educational Commission for Foreign Medical Graduates.

Session date: 
10/07/2021 - 10:00am to 11:00am CDT
800 University Bay Dr
Madison, WI 53705
United States
  • 1.00 AAPA Category 1 CME
  • 1.00 ACPE Contact Hours - Pharmacist
  • 1.00 AMA PRA Category 1 Credit
  • 1.00 ANCC Contact Hours
  • 1.00 University of Wisconsin–Madison Continuing Education Hours
    • 1.00 Approved for AMA PRA Category 1 Credit™

Please login or register to take this course.
Discloser List CME Internal Report